Robert Stewart Distinguished Lecture

The Robert Stewart Distinguished Lecture is made possible by the generous contribution of Dr. Long Ngyuen, who received his doctorate degree from the ISU Computer Science department in 1975. This annual event is held in honor of his mentor, Dr. Robert Stewart, Professor Emeritus and the first department chair in Computer Science at ISU. 

Researchers invited to be part of the Robert Stewart Distinguished Lecture series are world-class scholars in their field. They include recipients of prestigious distinctions such as the Turing Award, Kyoto Prize, National Medal of Technology and Innovations, John Von Neumann Medal, etc. Their talks focus on their research work, but are intended for an informed, but not expert audience. The RSDL is a public lecture. All are invited to attend and learn from some of contemporary computing's greatest minds.


Lecture Series

2024 Jack Dongarra

Jack Dongarra, The University of Tennessee

An Overview of High-Performance Computing and Future Requirements

2022 Joseph Sifakis Joseph Sifakis, Verimag Laboratory Why is it so hard to make self-driving cars? Trustworthy Autonomous Systems
2019 Martin Hellman, Stanford University The Technological Imperative for Ethical Evolution
2018 Leslie Valiant, Harvard University What Needs to be Added to Machine Learning?
2016 Takeo Kanade, Carnegie Mellon University Fun Research in Computer Vision: from robots, sports, face to medicine
2015 Mary Shaw, Carnegie Mellon University Progress Toward an Engineering Discipline of Software
2014 Luca Cardelli, Mircrosoft Research in Cambridge The Cell Cycle Switch Computes Approximate Majority
2013 Dr. Stephen Yau, Arizona State University Situation Awareness in Application of Services and Cloud Computing
2012 Dr. Larry Smarr, Calit2 An End to End Campus-Scale High Performance Cynberinfracture for Data-Intensive Research
2011 Dr. Alfred Aho, Columbia University Computational Thinking in Language Design
2010 Dr. David Parnas, McMaster University Precise Documentation: The Key to Better Software
2009 Dr. Elisa Bertino, Purdue University Digital Identity Management & Protection
2008 Dr. Jin-Yi Cai, University of Wisconsin-Madison Computational Complexity and Holographic Algorithms
2007 Dr. John E. Hopcroft, Cornell University Computer Science in the Information Age
2006 Dr. Barbara Liskov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Software Upgrades in Distributed Systems
2005 Dr. Amir Pnueli, New York University Taming the Infinite: Verification of Infinite-State Systems
2004 Dr. Benjamin Wah, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Nonlinear Optimization in Planning & Scheduling