Atanasoff Today 2022-23: Faculty and staff awards

PAVAN ADURI was selected to join the 2022-2023 cohort of Iowa State University’s Emerging Leaders Academy. Pavan also received the 2022 ACM SIGMOD Research Highlight Award for his co-authored paper, “Model Counting meets F0 Estimation.”

FORREST BAO was featured in a recent edition of an LAS publication for his work on developing AI technology to optimize solar installations.

MYRA COHEN gave the keynote address on “Software Testing and Repair of Organic Programs” at the 15th IEEE International Conference on software testing, verification, and validation. Cohen also gave the keynote at the 2022 ACM International Systems and Software Product Line Conference. 

YAN-BIN JIA and his robotics laboratory received a generous donation of a robotic hand from Amazon’s Robotics AI group. The hand is equipped with sensors in each fingertip, helping to further the capabilities of the department’s robotics lab.

NICOLE LEWIS was awarded the LAS P&S Outstanding New Professional Award. The award recognizes Nicole for outstanding performance as the Graduate Program Administrator.

ROBYN LUTZ has been elevated as a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for contributions to software requirements for safety-critical systems.

SIMANTA MITRA was named the co-director for the North Central North American region of the International Collegiate Programming Contest. In his new role, he helps guide the direction of the ICPC.

HRIDESH RAJAN published a textbook that uses a hands-on approach to teach the principles of programming languages titled, “An Experiential Introduction to Principles of Programming Languages.” Rajan also received the ISU Award for Early Achievement in Departmental Leadership.

NOK WONGPIROMSARN received a National Science Foundation CAREER award, the highest honor awarded to junior faculty. Nok is the 9th member of the department’s faculty to receive this high honor.